The New Ugly, and the overuse of Impact…

The New Ugly

So I was on quipsologies last night and saw a post from the Creative Review Blog about Ugly design, Super Super is ugly, but ugly on purpose? so does that make good design? I don’t know, it has to be nice to be able to be free and reckless with design. I think that’s when you start pushing your own boundaries.

So that brings me to today. I just got an email to recreate a logo I designed a while back for a contractor that seemed to scream Impact, and then the question arises, is it worse to try to break away so drastically from the main stream, or to fall back on something that works time and time again, (read Times New Roman, Trajan, Mrs. Eaves, Impact, dare I say Helvetica). I decided to go with Folio Bold Condensed. So, I guess for me it’s try to meet somewhere in the middle.

One response to “The New Ugly, and the overuse of Impact…

  1. Pingback: NYC Taxi or Why I’m Tired of Wolff Olins* « D E S I G N and F A R O F A

Leave a Reply

